Final Results for 2016 Tanner Cup

Apologies to everyone for not posting these results last night, we had a technical difficulty, but here they are …

The winner of the 2016 Tanner Cup was Robbie McCutcheon representing Wanganui Manawatu province.

Second place Campbell Stanton representing Auckland province.

Third place Josh Berry representing Poverty Bay province.

Click here for full results

P-Class group photo

2016 Tanner Cup Regatta

Shifty winds made for challenging conditions for the race officer and the sailors, and the results reflect just how tough it was out there today.

Click here for the results of day one

Robbie McCutchenIMG_1891

Robbie McCutcheon winning race 1


Many thanks to our amazing sponsors of the 2015 Interschool regatta

We have been amazed by the generosity of our many sponsors.  We just want to say a huge Thank You to our sponsors and ask club members and competitors to remember that these prizes and welcome pack items, didn’t just come from the goodness of their heart, but out of their back pocket as well.  So remember to support our sponsors every chance you get.

We already have some of the best sailing waters in the World and the support of our amazing sponsors.  Now we just need you, the competitors and your families,  to spread the word and encourage all your friends and their families to join us and share in what the Bay of Islands has to offer.

Prizes included thousands of dollars worth of trips from Explore, including America’s Cup sailing experience for the winners, Discover the Bay, Swim with the Dolphins and loads of ferry trips to locations in the Bay of Islands and the Hauraki Gulf. Helicopter flights to Hole in the Rock with Salt Air, The fastest trip in the Bay with Mack Attack, Parasailing with Flying Kiwi Parasail, Accommodation & Dinner with Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, Wetsuits from NZ Sailing plus lots of spot prizes from Burnsco, North Sails, & Chains Ropes and Anchors.  And of course our beautiful trophies sponsored by Copthorne Hotel & Resort.  Thanks to Bidvest for helping us feed our competitors, the food was amazing, so were the Mussel fritters from The Pier Bar & Restaurant.  Thanks to Resene Colour Shop for the sunblock, which caused lots of amusement/confusion in its paint test pots.

explore  NZ Sailing Copthorne  salt air
Bidvest Flying Kiwi Burnsco north sails
CRAP. Mack Attack watersport
 Paihia Beach Resort Logo  resenes
 Adventure HQ  goodbye ouch




National Title Won by BOIYC Sailor

Northland duo dominate NZ  2015 Javelin Nationals
‘Phlipnhel reaching for the finish’    Takapuna Boating Club   
In a range of conditions the Javelin Skiffs fought hard for the title of National Champion in Takapuna on Waitangi Weekend 6-8th February 2015. Current Sanders Cup holders Phil McNeill and Craig Gilberd won all eight races in an undisputable display of skill.  


It did not look promising on Friday when racing was abandoned due to heavy winds, but the race committee team from the Takapuna Boating Club managed to hold eight races in a range of difficult, shifty offshore conditions.

The fleet was very close together and every place was hard fought for, with places being gained and lost on every wind shift. Smart sailing became the deciding factor and with a combined experience of 73 years in the Javelin, the Northland pair were unbeatable.

Congratulations to our new National Champion’s Phil McNeill and Craig Gilberd sailing for the Bay of Islands Yacht Club.  Second and Third place were tied on points and decided on count-back with father and son team Ross and Colin Shanks from Gisborne coming through to take second place.  Third place went to David Brown and David Feek from Horowhenua Sailing Club. Best first-time skipper of the contest was Sara Watters from Wellington who was putting Blunderbus on the right side of many of the shifts, with Hamish Norton on the trapeze. The prestigious DFL (Dead f***ing Last) Trophy went to brother and sister Antje and Kai Müller from Germany.

The next challenge for the Northland pair is defending the Air New Zealand Javelin Inter Dominion Championship being sailed in Perth WA at the end of the year.